Barack’s Blackberry banned

One of the images frequently seen during the recent US presidential election campaign was that of Barack Obama checking his Blackberry at every given opportunity. It has now been announced that when he takes up ownership of the Oval office his handheld will be banned – it is deemed a security risk. It is, however, believed that he will be the first US President to have a laptop on the desk.barack_obama_01

This brought a few questions to my mind:

What does the President do all day if he does not spend it at his computer like the rest of us?  How does he check his Facebook site and his You Tube clippings in his lunch hour? How does he do his Christmas shopping? Does the UK PM have a computer on his desk or does he just rely on others to supply him with the information?

I am not a conspiracy theorist but I do wonder if the “leader of the free world” is being cut off from access to that very world by those who would like to ensure that he only learns what they want him to.

I would be lost without my iPhone and the access it gives me to information and work emails wherever I am and I am sure Obama will hate having his Blackberry prised from his hands.

4 Responses to Barack’s Blackberry banned

  1. Mrs H says:

    I don’t see how having a blackberry in his hand is any more of a security risk than leaving his laptop on his desk while he’s travelling – am I missing something? Plus, if he carried the phone in the inside pocket on the left of his jacket, it would double as body armour (we’ve all seen the films where bullets have been stopped by bibles or hipster flasks, why not update that image?).

    I’d hate to be without my phone now. I’m of the generation that has spent more of my life with a mobile phone than without, and remember my uncle having one of the first ‘mobile’ handsets that required a trolley to carry the battery on and muscles like Arnie to lift. That said, when I was on holiday in the Lakes without internet or mobile access it was quite a feeling of release. But, please don’t part me from my iphone for more than a week, I need to be able to delete the spam emails as they arrive in my inbox to prevent them stacking up and crashing mail!

  2. Mrs M says:

    I’m finding it hard enough at Dave and Kathy’s place in Melbourne which only has dial-up.

  3. Stazza says:

    I’d be more worried for his wife – how will he tell her he’ll be late home for dinner?

  4. Pezmondo says:

    He’s the president Stazza. He can have dinner killed.

Leave a Reply

