Upwardly mobile?

Whilst I was off sunning my self on the top of a mountain in France last week, Ofcom released a draft proposed regulation to allow mobile phones to be used on planes.

Noooooooooooooooooooo!

I don’t want to be sat next to the Dom Jolly character with their unreasonably loud “Hello? yeah. I’m on a plane. It’s rubbish, the wings aren’t attached properly” conversation which will immediately throw the flight into chaos.

Really. Do we need to use mobiles on planes? When did everything in our lives become so urgent that it can’t wait for a couple of hours? Surely, catching up with our voicemail is what kills time while we’re standing around waiting for our baggage to be kicked into the terminal?

I have a horrible image of a plane full of 2-300 people sitting on the plane as it crosses international boundaries. That’s 2-300 phones that will all start beeping, buzzing and pinging at once as they receive the “welcome” messages from their new host network operator. For that reason alone mobiles should remain banned from being used in flight. Personally, I’m happy to stick to the ferry and driving to my destination with my phone safely out of charge and stashed in the glove box!

4 Responses to Upwardly mobile?

  1. Stacey says:

    I agree. I get enough of that malarky on the bus and train on the way to/from work… A lady screaming into her phone, a guy having a row with his missus – you end up hearing all about someone else’s life. At least, noise cancellation technology when you put your headphones on eliminates background noise these days (that just about keeps me sane).
    In my opinion, a plane is for sleeping, eating, watching cheesy movies and having a glass of wine before arrival in a different (preferably sunny) country.
    No, Dom Jolly is not my hero either.

  2. Pezmondo says:

    I’m not generally this right wing, but I kind’ve feel like kids should be taught that the use of mobile phones in enclosed spaces with other people around (i.e. all forms of public transport / cafes, etc) is just plain rude, and enormously irritating to other people. Surely this should feature in the new citizenship classes that have started appearing on the standard school curriculum?

    Mobiles are great, but it’s really only polite to use them on-the-fly; walking down the street, or crossing busy roads. This communication technique also has the advantage of removing a high number of garrulous people from the gene pool.

    In truth, mobile coverage on planes will be charged at such a premium rate that I don’t think noisy calls will be an issue. People will hopefully be charged to receive them too; and I think texts could be handy for emergencies. As in, ‘oh no my plne is crshing’. Hopefully they’ll have the foresight to have a ‘mobile phone area’. Preferably outside the plane.

    Horrifyingly I hear they’re also planning to enable mobile phone reception on the London tube network now. Never mind banning booze on the tube. How much violence is *this* going to cause?!

  3. Sara says:

    Oops. I didn’t know it was against the rules. I’ve been using mine on the plane for years 😦

  4. Juliet says:

    Yesterday between Waterloo and Wimbledon I suffered a twenty minute call by a woman talking about the second home she was buying and the rules she was going to impose on other users. I really did not need to know how people were going to be allowed to use the “lobby area”. If they allow it on planes I hope they provide parachutes for those who cannot cope with it any more.

Leave a Reply

